

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE

RESOLUTION NO. 13-24

OF THE

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe, its members, its lands, its enterprises and its agencies by authority of the Constitution and Bylaws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and,

WHEREAS, the Tribe is a federally-recognized Indian Tribe possessing reserved powers, including the powers of self-government; and

WHEREAS, under the Constitution and the Bylaws and inherent sovereignty of the Tribe, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is charged with the duty of protecting the health, security, education and general welfare of the tribal members, and with protecting and managing the lands and treaty resources and rights of the Tribe; and,

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has been entrusted with the creation of ordinances and resolutions in order to fulfill their duty of protecting the health, security, education, and general welfare of tribal members, and of protecting and managing the lands and treaty resources of the Tribe; and,

WHEREAS, under the Constitution and bylaws of the Tribe, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has the powers and duties to encumber tribal lands, interests in lands, or other tribal assets.

WHEREAS, in order to receive federal funding for maintenance, it is necessary for the Tribe to maintain certain reservation roads as public right of ways, and the Bureau of Indian Affairs requires binding reassurance of the Tribe's commitment to do so,

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council directs and authorizes its Chairman to sign the attached agreement to maintain the roads and utilities as public right of ways under the laws and jurisdiction of the Squaxin Island Tribe.

CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was adopted during a regular council meeting held on this $\underline{11}$ day of \underline{Aprll} 2013, and was passed by a vote of $\underline{5}$ for, and $\underline{\circ}$ against with $\underline{\circ}$ abstentions.

David Lopeman, Chairman

Attested by:

Pete Kruger, Sr., Secretary

a.

Arnold Cooper, Vice-Chairman