

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE

RESOLUTION NO. 14-95 65 of the

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe, its members, its lands, its enterprises and its agencies by the authority of the Constitution and Bylaws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and

WHEREAS, under the Constitution, Bylaws and inherent sovereignty of the Tribe, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is charged with the duty of protecting the health, security, education and general welfare of the tribal members, and with protecting and managing the lands and treaty resources and rights of the Tribe; and

WHEREAS, The Tribe is a federally-recognized Indian Tribe possessing reserved powers, including the powers of self-government;

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has been entrusted with the creation of ordinances and resolutions in order to fulfill their duty of protecting the health, security, education, and general welfare of tribal members, and of protecting and managing the lands and treaty resources of the Tribe; **and**

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribe participated in the initial education summit between Washington Tribes and Governor Lock at Quinault on March 27, 2003.

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council appointed Sally Brownfield to represent the tribe at the said summit and on the pursuant Tribal Leaders Congress on Education

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council continues to support Sally Brownfield's appointment to represent the Squaxin Island Tribe on the Tribal Leaders Congress of Education.

CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was adopted
at the regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, held on thisday of
September, 2014 at which time a quorum was present and was passed
by a vote of <u>(o</u> for and <u>O</u> against with <u>O</u> abstentions.
David Lopepan, Chairman
Arnold Cooper, Vice Chairman
Pete Kruger, Sr., Secretary