

## SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE



# RESOLUTION NO. 15-14

#### of the

### SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe, its members, its lands, its enterprises and its agencies by the authority of the Constitution and Bylaws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and

WHEREAS, under the Constitution, Bylaws and inherent sovereignty of the Tribe, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is charged with the duty of protecting the health, security, education and general welfare of the tribal members, and with protecting and managing the lands and treaty resources and rights of the Tribe; and

WHEREAS, The Tribe is a federally-recognized Indian Tribe possessing reserved powers, including the powers of self government;

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has been entrusted with the creation of ordinances and resolutions in order to fulfill their duty of protecting the health, security, education, and general welfare of tribal members, and of protecting and managing the lands and treaty resources of the Tribe; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council authorizes the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA), Northwest Regional Offices (NWRO), to allocate Pacific Salmon Treaty (PST) funds for the Fiscal Year 2015 (FY15), to the Squaxin Island Tribes coho smolt research and data-gathering projects in South Puget Sound.

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council adopts the recommended FY15 PST Proposal for funds and the FY14 PST Progress Report presented in the attached documents submitted by Joseph Peters, Fish Biologists of the Squaxin Island Tribe.

## **CERTIFICATION**

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was
adopted at the regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, held on this
26 day of March 2015 at which time a quorum was
present and was passed by a vote of 5 for and 0 against with 0
abstentions.
David Lopeman, Chairman
Arnold Cooper, Vice Chairman
Pete Kruger, Sr., Secretary