

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE

RESOLUTION NO. 15-4955

of the

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe, its members, its lands, its enterprises and its agencies by the authority of the Constitution and Bylaws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and

WHEREAS, under the Constitution, Bylaws and inherent sovereignty of the Tribe, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is charged with the duty of protecting the health, security, education and general welfare of tribal members, and of protecting and managing the lands and treaty resources and rights of the Tribe; and

WHEREAS, the Tribe is a federally-recognized Indian Tribe possessing reserved powers, including the powers of self-government; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has been entrusted with the creation of ordinances and resolutions in order to fulfill their duty of protecting the health, security, education and general welfare of tribal members, and of protecting and managing the lands and treaty resources of the Tribe; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council adopted Chapter 6.04.040, the Fireworks Committee, by Res. 07-31 § 18; Res. 04-66 (part); Res. 02-61 (part); Res. 01-43 (part).

WHEREAS, the Council during the August 25, 2015 meeting/work session changed the Fireworks Committee structure so that the Fireworks stand owners will be the Committee members.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council hereby approves the amendments to the Squaxin Island Fireworks Committee, section 6.04.040 C (1) and E (3). See attached.

Resolution No. 15-Page 2 of 2

CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council hereby certifies that the foregoing Resolution was adopted at the regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, held on this 27th day of August, 2015, at which time a quorum was present and was passed by a vote of () for and () against, with ()abstentions.

David Lopeman, Chairman

Attested by: Charlene Krise, Secretary

Arnold Cooper, Vice Chairman