

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe, its members, its lands, its enterprises and its agencies by authority of the Constitution and Bylaws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and,

WHEREAS, under the Constitution and the Bylaws and inherent sovereignty of the Tribe, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is charged with the duty of protecting the health, security, education and general welfare of the tribal members, and with protecting and managing the lands and treaty resources and rights of the Tribe; and,

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has been entrusted with the creation of ordinances and resolutions in order to fulfill their duty of protecting the health, security, education, and general welfare of tribal members, and of protecting and managing the lands and treaty resources of the Tribe; and,

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribe has requested assistance from the Indian Health Service (IHS) to provide satisfactory water supply and waste disposal (sanitation) facilities for Indians on the Squaxin Island Reservation and,

WHEREAS, IHS has set aside funds for the project under Project PO-01-A28A; and,

WHEREAS, the attached Memorandum of Agreement shall be signed by the Council Chairman of the Squaxin Island Tribe and the Director of Indian Health Service; and,

NOW THERFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby authorize and approve the Memorandum of Agreement for Project PO-01-A28A; and,

NOW THEREFORE BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby authorize the Tribal Chairman to be the Tribe's signatory on this particular project, and that these authorities shall be for the duration of this project.

## **CERTIFICATION**

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was adopted at the regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, held on this  $2^{++}$  day of  $4^{-}$  ugust, 2001, at which a quorum was present and was passed by a vote of  $6^{-}$  for, and  $0^{-}$  against with  $0^{-}$  abstentions.

David Lopeman, Chairman

Andy Whitener, Vice-Chairman

Attested by:

Peter Kruger, Sr., Secretary

