

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE

Sector Contraction of the Sector S

RESOLUTION NO. 04- 98

of the

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin island Tribe, its members, its lands, its enterprises and its agencies by the authority of the Constitution and Bylaws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; **and**

WHEREAS, under the Constitution, Bylaws and inherent sovereignty of the Tribe, the Squaxin island Tribal Council is charged with the duty of protecting the health, security, education and general welfare of the tribal members, and with protecting and managing the lands and treaty resources and rights of the Tribe; **and**

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has been entrusted with the creation of ordinances and resolution s in order to fulfill their duty of protecting the health, security, education, and general welfare of tribal members, and of protecting and managing the lands and treaty resources of the Tribe; and

WHEREAS, public transportation is an ongoing need in rural areas, especially in Southeastern Mason County where the Squaxin Island Tribe currently operates Squaxin Transit - a free public transportation service for Squaxin and Non-Squaxin riders with connections to Mason Transit, Intercity Transit (Thurston County), and Grays Harbor Transit; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council remains committed to supporting the operation of Squaxin Transit with at cash and in-kind matching funds, ensuring that everyone has reliable transportation and access to opportunities that lead to successful employment, improved quality of life, and self-sufficiency; and

WHEREAS, the Washington State Department of Transportation has announced the availability of 2005-2007 biennium funds through the Rural Mobility grant program to give rural communities a chance to implement public transportation services in areas where limited or no service is currently available; **and**

Page Two Resolution #04 - 98

WHEREAS, the goals of the 2005-2007 biennium WSDOT Rural Mobility grant program for rural public transportation are: a) to encourage communities to identify and address deficiencies, b) to assist local areas in determining community benefits and support, c) to preserve or enhance the services, d) to support a sustainable network of services within and between communities, and e) to establish opportunities for public and private sector organizations to work collaboratively, ensuring that stakeholders have a voice in the project and encouraging appropriate cost sharing on projects; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is aware of the generous support and partnership of Mason County Transportation Authority (Mason Transit) in providing a two-year in-kind match of \$53,900 to operate and expand Squaxin Transit.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby support the submittal of a \$381,620 WSDOT 2005-2007 biennium grant application requesting \$190,300 to operate and expand Squaxin Transit.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council commits a two-year cash match of \$101,800 for transportation hub operation, and a two-year in-kind match of \$35,620 for planning/administration assistance to operate and expand Squaxin Transit.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby authorize the Tribal Chairman, Executive Director, or Deputy Executive Director during an absence of the Executive Director, to be the Tribe's signatory and representative in all future matters requiring Tribal authorization regarding the WSDOT 2005-2007 biennium grant application, and that these authorities shall be for the duration of the project.

CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was adopted at the regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, held on this 17th day of *Movember* 2004, at which time a quorum was present and was passed by a vote of $\underline{\checkmark}$ for and $\underline{\circlearrowright}$ against with $\underline{\circlearrowright}$ abstentions.

Dave Lopeman, Chairman

Attested by:

Vince Henry Sr. Secretary

Andy Whitener, Vice Chairman