

SQUAXIN

ISLAND

TRIBE

Route 1, Box 257

Shelton, Washington 98584

Calvin J. Peters - Chairman Bryan A. Johnson - Vice Chairman Sally Ann Norman - Secretary

Wesley Whitener - Treasurer John Krise - Councilman Florence Sigo - Tribal Historian

RESOLUTION NO. 79-49
of the
SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe of Indians by the authority of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council finds that it is absolutely necessary to preserve law and order on the Squaxin Island Reservation; and

WHEREAS, the Tribal Council has noted an alarming amount of criminal activity on the Reservation, including especially in the housing area and tidelands areas of the Reservation; and

WHEREAS, the Tribal Council is convinced that neither state nor federal authorities can or will provide adequate protection for Tribal members and others living on or entering the Reservation; and

WHEREAS, the Preamble to the Squaxin Island Constitution provides that a purpose of that document, and of the Tribal government itself, is to administer justice on the Reservation; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has nominated a committee, chaired by Emory J. Peters, Chief Tribal Law Enforcement Officer, to draft a comprehensive Law and Order Code for submission to the Tribal Council for its consideration and approval;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that, upon consideration and approval by the Tribal Council, the Tribal Council shall enact and promulgate a Squaxin Island Law and Order Code, to regulate the conduct of persons on the Reservation consistent with Federal law.

CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted at a regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council held on this 20 day of 1979, at which time a quorum was present and passed by a vote of 3 for, o against.

Calvin J. Peters, Chairman

ATTESTED BY:

Mike Peters, Secretary

Bryan A. Johnson, Vice-Chairman