

## SQUAXIN ISLAND

Route 1, Box 257 Shelton, Washington 98584 Phone 426-9781

Calvin J. Peters — Chairman Bryan A. Johnson — Vice Chairman Michael Peters — Secretary David Lopeman — Treasurer Michael Krise — Councilman Florence Sigo — Tribal Historian

RESOLUTION NO. 79-68

of the

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Suaxin Island Tribe of Indians by the authority of the Constitution and By-laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965, and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has the responsibility and the right to manage the anadromous resource returning to its usual and accustomed fishing areas, and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has enacted a Fishing Ordinance to realize management objectives, and

WHEREAS, this enacted Ordinance does not address the denial of issuance of license to an individual for failure to pay obligations to the Tribe or Tribal Court (ie, court fines, fish tax, fish loans, confiscation fees etc).

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Fishing Ordinance be ammended to read, "C. No Tribal Member or spouse shall be issued a Squaxin, Island annual fishing license or spouse permit prior to paying any fines, fees, taxes or loans which are payable to the Squaxin Island Tribe or Tribal Court. Failure to pay any fines, fees, taxes or loans may result in the immediate suspension of an individuals license and/or spouse permit, should monies become due during the fishing season. Suspension of a license or permit will be by Tribal Council Resolution."

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this ammendment shall be inserted under Section XI of the Squaxin Island Fishing Ordinance.

## CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted at a regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, held on this 15th day of November, 1979, at which time a quorum was present, by a vote of 4 for and 0 agianst.

Calvin J. Peters, Chairman

Bryan A. Johnson, Vice Chairman

Attested by: