

SQUAXIN ISLAND

Route 1, Box 257 Shelton, Washington 98584 Phone 426-9781

Calvin J. Peters — Chairman Bryan A. Johnson — Vice Chairman Michael Peters — Secretary

David Lopeman — Treasurer Michael Krise — Councilman Florence Sigo — Tribal Historian

RESOLUTION NO. 80-07
of the
SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe of Indians by the authority of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965, and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has the responsibility of administering the affairs of the Squaxin Island Tribe and of protecting the trust resources of the Tribe; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribe finds that it is necessary to address the enforcement of laws, both criminal and civil, on the Squaxin Island Reservation in a comprehensive and coordinated manner;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that any law enforcement officer not an employee of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, whether federal, state, or tribal, who enters the Squaxin Island Reservation for the purposes of official duty shall first register with the Squaxin Island Tribal Law Enforcement Department, and state the nature and extent of his or her official activities on the reservation; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that any law enforcement officer not doing so, after notice of this resolution, is hereby declared to be a trespasser and shall be subjected to the sanctions against trespassers set forth in the Squaxin Island Trespass Ordinance, enacted by Resolution No. 79-4 of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council on February 13, 1979.

CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the above resolution was adopted at a regular meeting of the Squaxin Island. Tribal Council held on this 7 day of February, 1980, at which time a quorum was present and passed by a vote of 3 for, 2 against.

Calvin J. Peters, Chairma

ATTESTED BY:

Mike Peters, Secretary

Bryan A. Johnson, Vice Chairman