

SQUAXIN ISLAND

Route 1, Box 257 Shelton, Washington 98584 Phone 426-9781

Calvin J. Peters — Chairman Bryan A. Johnson — Vice Chairman Michael Peters — Secretary

David Lopeman — Treasurer Michael Krise — Councilman Florence Sigo — Tribal Historian

RESOLUTION NO. 80- 22 of the SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe of Indians by the authority of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is responsible for acquiring and managing Tribal real property; and

WHEREAS, the Tribal Council has determined that its most important goal is the preservation of Squaxin Island in a condition as free from development as possible; and

WHEREAS, the Tribal Council has determined that the most effective means of controlling the future of Squaxin Island is by gaining ownership control of as much as possible of the uplands of Squaxin Island; and

WHEREAS, the Tribe presently owns a parcel of land located at the Northeast 1/4 of the Southeast 1/4 of Section 27, Township 20, Range 2 West, W.M., which was originally half of the Dick Simmons allotment, No. 9, which is located on Squaxin Island itself, and therefore within the exterior boundaries of the Squaxin Island Reservation; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has determined that Tribal real property such as the above described parcel can best be protected if it is owned by the United States in trust for the Tribe;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council hereby requests that the United States accept the title to the above described real estate in trust for the Squaxin Island Tribe.

CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted at a regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council held on this $\mathcal Z$ day of $\mathcal Aprileonomean 1980$, at which time a quorum was present and passed by a vote of $\mathcal A$ for, σ against.

Calvin J. Peters, Chairman

ATTESTED BY:

Mike Peters, Secretary

Bryan A. Johnson, Vice-Chairman