

## **SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE**

RESOLUTION NO. 86-22 of the SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WEST 81 HIGHWAY 108 SHELTON, WASHINGTON 98584 (206) 426-9781

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe of Indians by the authority of the Constitution and By-laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe , as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is responsible for protecting and enhancing the social and economic well being of the Squaxin Island Tribal Members; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, in its' aforementioned capacity, is aware of the distribution to state governments of monies that have come to be known as the OIL OVERCHARGE SETTLEMENT FUNDS; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is aware of the original AMOCO Decision and the language written into its distribution formula to the states which said that Tribes within each state: "have agreed that the State's proposal will provide an equitable share of the allocated funds for Tribal members...or that ... Tribal organizations will file a separate plan"; and

WHEREAS, the State of Washington has filed its's plan with the Office of Hearings and Appeals, U.S. Department of Energy, which implies Tribal participation; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has not been notified nor have we been asked to participate with the State of Washington in the formulation of any "redistribution plan"; and

WHEREAS, the Sqauxin Island Tribal Council, in studying the State of Washington's plan, not only takes affront at the lack of Tribal participation in it, but forcefully contests its' distribution formula in relation to any set aside based on what the State perceives Tribal population figures to be; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has investigated additional OIL OVERCHARGE distributions to the State of Washington, including but not limited to, ARCO, SHELL and especially EXXON; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has identified a priority need as a Sovereign government, to access and acquire an equitable percentage of these funds in order to continue basic energy conservation services to their constituents; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council realizes that the best mechanism to access the OIL OVERCHARGE funds and assure an equitable apportionment to Tribes is to unify all federally-recognized Tribes in the State of Washington.

PAGE 2
Resolution No. 86-22
Squaxin Island TRibal Council

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council does herein formally recognize the unification of all 26 federally-recognized Indian Tribes within the State of Washington, to confront and negotiate this OIL OVERCHARGE issue from one Indian perspective; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Sqauxin Island Tribal Council approves and joins with all federally-recognized Tribes within the State of Washington, who have as of this date, formed and appointed an OIL OVERCHARGE NEGOTIATING TEAM to act in their behalf; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council does recognize the following individuals to represent them in any and all state and/or federal negotations for the purpose of accessing and securing an equitable apportionment of the OIL OVERCHARGE REFUNDS on behalf of the Indian population of the State of Washington:

- 1. Mr. William Ron Allen, Chairman, Jamestown Klallam Tribe
- 2. Mr. Harry Cooper, Chairman, Nooksack Tribe
- 3. Ms. Virginia Harrison, Vice-chair person, Yakima Indian Nation
- 4. Mr. Robert Joe Sr., Chairman, Swinomish Tribe
- 5. Mr. Gary Peterson, Chairman, Skokomish Tribe
- 6. Ms. Carmen Smith, Chairperson, Nisqually Tribe
- 7. Mr. Mel Tonasket, Colville Confederatead Tribes

## CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was duly adopted at a regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council held on this 19th day of June, 1986, at which time a quorum was present, and passed by a vote of  ${\it 3}$  for and  ${\it 0}$  against, with  ${\it 0}$  abstentions.

David W. Whitener, Chairman

Attested by: Wary a fletcher Treas-David Copeman, Secretary

Evie Allen, Vice Chairperson