

## **SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE**

WEST 81 HIGHWAY 108 SHELTON, WASHINGTON 98584 (206) 426-9781

## RESOLUTION NO. 87-20 of the SOUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe of Indians by the authority of the Constitution and By-laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribe at their Annual General Body meeting, January 11, 1987 held elections for the Squaxin Island Tribal Council; and

Whereas, all five positions of the Tribal Council were up for election, those positions being, Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer and Councilman, at Large.

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** a quorum was present and elected the following persons to serve three year terms, as per the Tribe's Constitution and By-laws.

Chairman, David Lopeman, Vice Chairperson, Evie Allen, Secretary, James Peters, Treasurer, Sue McFarlane and Council Member at large, Lorna Gouin.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that henceforth it shall be the responsibility of these newly elected officers to conduct and transact all official business of the Squaxin Island Tribe.

## CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted at a regular meeting of the Squaxin island Tribal Council held on this 9th day of April, 1987, at which time a quorum was present and passed by a vote of 4 for and 0 against.

David E. Lopeman, Chairman

Attested By:

James Peters, Secretary

Evie Allen, Vice Chairperson