

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE

WEST 81 HIGHWAY 108 SHELTON, WASHINGTON 98584 (206) 426-9781

RESOLUTION NO. 87-54 of the SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe of Indians by the authority of the Constitution and By-laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has been entrusted to provide for the social, health and economic well-being of the Squaxin Island Tribal Citizens; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribe wishes to become a Member in good standing of the National Congress of American Indians; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribe meets all requirements for Tribal Membership, pusuant to Article II, Section I (b) of the Constitution and By-laws of the National Congress of American Indians.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council which is the official governing body of the above named Tribe, hereby authorizes David Lopeman who is the principal tribal official, to take the necessary action to place the Tribe in membership in NCAI; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that tribal funds in the amount of \$50 based on Tribal Membership dues schedule of the NCAI By-laws, Articale III, Section 1 (b) are authorized to be paid for such Tribal Membership in NCAI; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that, based on the tribal citizenry of 365 person, the Tribe shall have 1 vote, in accordance with Articla IV, Section 3 of the NCAI Constitution; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that pursuant to Article V, SEction 2 of the NCAI Constitution, the Tribe designates the following named persons as Delegate and Alternate Delegate to the 44th Annual NCAI Convention:

Delegate: Lorna Gouin

Alternate: James Peters

CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was adopted at a regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, held on this 12th day of September, 1987, at which time a quorum was present and passed by a vote of 4 for, and against, and abstentions.

David E. Lopeman, Chajeman

Attested by:

James Peters, Secretary

Funa Lee Gouse Evil Allen, Vice Chairperson Council mencies