

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE

RESOLUTION NO. 89-29 of the SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe of Indians by the authority of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8 1965; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has been entrusted to provide for the social, health and well being of its citizens, and

WHEREAS, local statistics on Squaxin Youth arrested by the Law Enforcement Officers demonstrate that there is drug abuse by 47% of the Youth involved in legal problems; and

WHEREAS, the excessive utilization of drugs on Indian Reservations has been confirmed in a HHS/IHS Report entitled "Acoholism/Substance Abuse Prevention Initiative" pointing out a disproportionately high rate of alcohol and illicit drug use among Indian Youth; and

WHEREAS, the HHS Drug Abuse Prevention Program for Homeless Youth, CFDA No. 13.657, D. Native American Youth, will provide a relevant program to get the community involved in a major drug prevention project.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council hereby approved the development and submittal of the "Squaxin Drug Abuse Prevention Program for Homeless Youth Project" to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services on June 13, 1989; and

NOW BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby designate the Tribal Chairman, Vice-Chairperson, and the General Manager as the Tribe's authorized representatives for purposes of negotiating, amending and executing this grant agreement.

NOW BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that these authorities shall be for the duration of this grant.

CERTIFICATION

	The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was adopted at a regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council held this
	with 6 abstentions.
	Day Hopher
	David Lopeman Tribal Chairman
	La Company of the Com
	ATTESTED BY: Dena Lee Mayer las)
0	James Peters, Secretary
	Evie Allen Vice-Chairmonan