

## **SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE**

RESOLUTION NO. 90-61 of the SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe of Indians by the Authority of the Constitution and By-laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has been entrusted to provide for the social, health, and economic well-being of its members; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribe wishes to continue membership in good standing of the National Congress of American Indians; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribe meets all requirements for Tribal Membership; pursuant to Article II, Section I(b) of the Constitution and By-laws of the National Congress of American Indians.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council hereby authorizes necessary action to place the Tribe in membership of National Congress of American Indians; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that tribal funds in the amount of \$50 based on Tribal Membership dues schedule of the NCAI By-laws, Article III, Section 1 (b) are authorized to be paid for such Tribal Membership in NCAI; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that based on tribal citizenry of less than 400 the Tribe shall have 1 vote, in accordance with Article IV, Section 3 of the NCAI Constitution; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that pursuant to Article V, Section 2 of the NCAI Constution, the Tribe designates the following named persons as Delegate and Alternate voting Delegate to the 47th Annual NCAI Convention.

Delegate: David Lopeman, Tribal Chairman

Alternate: Lorna Gouin, Council Member

Alternate: B.J. Whitener, Treasurer

Resolution No. 90-61 Page 2

## CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was adopted at a regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, held on this 6th day of November, 1990, at which time a quorum was present and was passed by a vote of 4 for, and 0 against, with 0 abstentions.

David E. Lopeman, Chairman

David W. Whitener, Vice Chairman

At tested by: James Peters,

#ecretary