

## **SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE**



## RESOLUTION NO. 92-05 of the SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe of Indians by the authority of the Constitution and By-laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has been entrusted to provide for the social, health, and economic well-being of the Tribe and it's citizens; and

whereas, the Squaxin Island Tribe was established in 1855 by the Treaty of Medicine Creek and included various groups of Indians living along the various inlets and bays of southwestern Puget Sound, and

WHEREAS, the groups numbered seven, named Squawksin, Steh-chass, T'Peeksin, Squi-aitl, and Sa-heh-wa-mish, S'Homamish, Sawamish and all were assigned to the Island Reservation; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribe is rich in history, culture, tradition and heritage, and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has recognized that protection, preservation of history, culture, tradition and heritage are necessary to ensure the survival of the Squaxin Island Tribe; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council has in it's possession: historical photographs, maps, legal documents, oral histories, Tribal Government records that need to be managed and physically controlled by assessioning, arrangement, and description, and

WHEREAS, the United States National Park service has funds available for preservation assistance.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby authorize and submit an application to the National Park Service for managing archives entitled "Heart of our Heritage".

Page 2
Resolution No. <u>05</u>

## CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was adopted at a regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, held on this 304 day of January, 1991, at which time a quorum was present and was passed by a vote of 4 for, and 0 against with 0 abstentions.

David E. Lopeman, Chairman

Attested by:

Michael Peters, Secretary

David W. Whitener, Vice Chairman