

## **SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE**

## RESOLUTION NO. FY 93 - /O of the

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, The Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe of Indians by the authority of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and,

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the governing body of the Squaxin Island Indian Reservation in accordance with the Tribe's Constitution and By-Laws; and

WHEREAS, under Section 6 of the Squaxin Island Court Procedures Ordinance the Tribal Council is authorized to appoint judges of the Squaxin Island Tribal Court, and under Section 10 of the same ordinance the Tribal Council is authorized to appoint as judges persons who are hired to perform judicial services by an intertribal court system; and

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribe is a participant in the Northwest Intertribal Court System (NICS); and

WHEREAS, the Governing Board of NICS, which is composed of delegates of the member tribes of NICS, has selected several judges, named below, to sit as appellate justices, and in that capacity, to provide appellate services to the tribal courts of the member tribes;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council hereby appoints the following judges as eligible to sit on the Tribal Court of Appeals until such time as otherwise resolved: Elbridge Coochise, Marguerite Edwards, Elizabeth Fry, David Harding, Charles Hostnik, Douglas Hutchinson, Rosemary Irvin, Dennis Nelson, Rose Purser, John Roe, and Christopher Williams.

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL RESOLUTION NO. FY 93-10
PAGE 2

## **CERTIFICATION**

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was adopted at a regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, held on this 10th day of Dagmber ,1985, at which time a quorum was present and was passed by a vote of 4 for, and 0 against, and 0 abstentions.

DAVID LOPEMAN CHAIRMAN

Attested By: MIKE PETERS, SECRETARY

DAVID WHITENER, SR., VICE CHAIRMAN