

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE



RESOLUTION NO. 93-4 of the SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe by the authority of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and

WHEREAS, under the Constitution and By-Laws of the Tribe, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is charged with the duty of protecting the health, security, and general welfare of the Squaxin Island Tribal Reservation residents; and,

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, on behalf of the community, places a high priority on creating the opportunity for its youth to be successful in every aspect of their lives,

WHEREAS, to aid Indian students in their pursuit of independent and successful lives, the Tribe intends to implement a school-based support system for at-risk youth,

WHEREAS, the Family Policy Initiative of the State of Washington has been established to provide funding for projects which can enhance the school readiness for at-risk students,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby approve submission of an application to the State of Washington, Family Policy Council by the South Puget Inter-Tribal Planning Agency (SPIPA) on behalf of the Squaxin Island Tribe along with the other consortium member Tribes, in order to provide support services for at-risk youth,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby authorize the Tribal Chairman or the Executive Director to be the Tribe's representative in all future matters requiring Tribal authorization on this particular project; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that these authorities shall be for the duration of this project.

CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was adopted
at the regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, held on this 23 day of 5,
1993, at which time a quorum was present and was passed by a vote of 4 for and 6
against with abstentions.

David E.Lopeman, Chairman

Michal Peters, Secretary