

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE

RESOLUTION NO. 97 - 54

OF THE

SOUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Indian Reservation by authority of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and

WHEREAS, under the Constitution and By-laws of the Tribe, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is charged with the duty of protecting the health, security, education and general welfare of Tribal Members; and

WHEREAS, the State of Washington and Washington State federally recognized tribes entered into the Centennial Accord agreement, illustrating the commitment by the parties to the implementation of the government-to-government relationship reaffirmed as state policy by gubernatorial proclamation on January 3, 1989. This relationship respects the sovereign status of the parties, enhances and improves communication between them, and facilitates the resolution of issues; and

WHEREAS, the Washington State federally recognized tribes and the State of Washington acknowledge the challenges they face in light of P.L. 104-193, Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996; and

WHEREAS, Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) recipients may be required to relocate to ensure viable work opportunities; and

WHEREAS, based on historic mandated relocation of Tribes and the decimating impact it has had on tribal members and their cultures.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby strongly oppose relocation and hereby affirms that tribal members will not be subject to relocation.

CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was adopted at a meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, held on this 25th day of September, 1997, at which a quorum was present and was passed by a vote of \(\psi \frac{4}{2}\) for, and \(\subsete \omega\) against with \(\mathcal{O}\) abstentions.

David Whitener, Chairman

Attested by:

Sue McFarlane, Secretary

Calvin Peters, Vice Chairman