

SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBE



RESOLUTION NO. 98-<u>A8</u> of the SQUAXIN ISLAND TRIBAL COUNCIL

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is the Governing Body of the Squaxin Island Tribe by the authority of the Constitution and By-Laws of the Squaxin Island Tribe, as approved and adopted by the General Body and the Secretary of the Interior on July 8, 1965; and,

WHEREAS, under the Constitution and By-Laws of the Tribe, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is charged with the duty of protecting the health, security, education, and general welfare of Squaxin Island Tribal members; and,

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribe participates in the Vocational Rehabilitation Program presently operated by South Puget Intertribal Planning Agency (SPIPA); and,

WHEREAS, the Squaxin Island Tribal Council is advised of the availability of funding through the U.S. Department of Education Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services to provide vocational rehabilitation services to American Indians with disabilities.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby authorize SPIPA to submit a grant proposal on behalf of the Squaxin Island Tribe to the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services to continue vocational rehabilitation services; and,

THEREFORE BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that the Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby authorize the Tribal Chairman, Executive Director, or the Deputy Executive Director to be the Tribe's representative in all future matters requiring Tribal authorization for this project; and that these authorities shall be for the duration of the project.

CERTIFICATION

The Squaxin Island Tribal Council does hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was
adopted at the regular meeting of the Squaxin Island Tribal Council, held on this 22 day
of MAU, 1998, at which time a quorum was present and was passed by a vote of 4 for
and against, with abstentions.

David Whitener, Sr., Tribal Chairman

Attested by:

Calvin Peters, Vice Chairman

Susan McFarlane, Secretary